Founded: 1889
Region: United Kingdom
Current champions: Lancashire
Most successful County: Lancashire 24 times
About tornament

The County Championship is an annual rugby union competition in England between teams representing English counties. After restructuring in 2007 the top tier of the Championship has been known as the Bill Beaumont Cup, after the trophy awarded to the competition winners was named in honour of Bill Beaumont, a former England and British & Irish Lions captain.[1] Teams also compete for the County Championship Plate and County Championship Shield. The English County Championship has a long history, being first officially recognised by the Rugby Football Union in 1889. The 2014 Championship was the 114th competition. The most successful county, Lancashire, has won the competition 24 times, followed by Gloucestershire (17) and Yorkshire (15). Lancashire (34) & Gloucestershire (33) have made the most appearances in contested finals.

Upcoming Matches

Latest Matches