On Wednesday Oct 28th, Cheshire RFU held their virtual Cheshire Presidents and Mitsubishi Motors Volunteer Recognition and Awards Evening.

Congratulations are due to all the volunteers who were nominated as part of the Volunteer Recognition Process in 2020.This year the RFU is sending certificates and gifts to the volunteers club, giving the club the opportunity to make the presentation and recognise the Volunteers’ contribution.

In Cheshire, we award Blue Plaques for particular contributions in a number of categories. These would normally be presented at the Volunteers evening in April as well. These were announced last night, and are listed below. It is our intention to make the Blue Plaque Presentations in person, by a Senior County Official, at the volunteers club, when we’re able to do so.

Player Recruitment Award           Dave Ackerley  Biddulph High School

Player Retention Award  Neil Clark  Knutsford, Matt Bowden Macclesfield                                                                       (joint award)

Volunteer Award                                       Dave Flanagan                  Bowdon

Brendon Bailey Coaches Award             Fraser Smale                     Caldy

Club Management Award                        Phil Mason                     Macclesfield

Better Facilities Award                            Chris Edmonds                  Knutsford

Community Engagement Award       Chris Pemberton    Crewe & Nantwich

Minis & Juniors Award                            Steve McCann                   Wirral

Women’s & Girls Award                          Ellis Greenwood               Moore

President’s All Rounder Award             Andy O’Connor                 Anselmians

As part of Mitsubishi’s involvement, they select 2 nominations to be invited to Twickenham for a Black Tie dinner and Awards ceremony, representing Cheshire. This year they have selected Chris Edmonds of Knutsford and our joint award, Neil Clark of Knutsford and Matt Bowden of Macclesfield.

Congratulations and appreciation to all involved.

Mark Jordan