Cheshire Presidents Volunteer Awards 2015

Cheshire Presidents Volunteer Awards 2015

The inaugural Cheshire Presidents Volunteer Awards Presentation Dinner was held at Bowdon RUFC on Thursday 14th May 2015. Nominations had been made by rugby clubs across Cheshire identifying and recognising the efforts and commitment of volunteers. In total there were 37 nominations from 14 clubs.

Nominations were grouped into 9 categories, copying the RFU Presidents awards categories, with 2 additions for Mini and Juniors, and Women’s and Girls. Martin Wroe, President of Cheshire RFU led the judging in each category to select a recipient for a Blue Plaque award.

The Plaques were presented at the dinner by Paul Warrington, next year’s President, standing in for Martin Wroe, with all other nominees receiving RFU branded gifts and certificates from David Ewing, The RFU Council rep for Cheshire. Colin Free, Chairman of Cheshire RFU announced at the end of the presentations that Rugby World Cup tickets had been secured for every nominee as well.

The awards evening was a lively affair attended by 70 people from 10 of the 14 clubs who made nominations. A lot of camaraderie was shown within the rugby fraternity with the efforts of volunteers being appropriately recognised and celebrated.

The nominations and Plaque awards are as follows

Category Nominee Club
Player Recruitment Phil Cardus – Plaque Award New Brighton
Ian Grassby Northwich
Karen Gooch Nortwich
Matt Baty Crewe and Nantwich
Player Retention Keith Ashford – Joint Plaque Award Holmes Chapel
Jon Griffin– Joint Plaque Award Holmes Chapel
Andy Partington– Joint Plaque Award Holmes Chapel
People Power Mark Fenby – Plaque Award Bowdon
Ralph Savill Liverpool Referees Society
Club Management Roy Kitchiner – Plaque Award Bowdon
Myles Kitchiner Bowdon
Len Galey Liverpool Referees Society
Peter Owen Congleton
Better Facilities Dickie Smith – Plaque Award Caldy
Brian Welch – Plaque Award Winnington Park
Andrew Patterson New Brighton
Craig Randles Crewe and Nantwich
Peter Baldwin Bowdon
Andy Hines Bowdon
Geraint Jones Amselmians
Community Engagement Andy Brown – Plaque Award Crewe and Nantwich
Mark Hiney Stockport
Matt Griffiths Gentlemen of Moore
Presidents ‘Beyond Rugby’ Award Kay Weeks – Plaque Award Stockport
Robin Cheeks Gentlemen of Moore
Chris Pemberton Crewe and Nantwich
Minis and Juniors Emma Reid – Plaque Award Ramsey – IOM
Steve Holding Crewe and Nantwich
Gareth Harris Bowdon
Lisa Reid Bowdon
Tony Bennett Bowdon
Malcolm Cooke Stockport
Matt Langtree Stockport
Gail Surplice Gentlemen of Moore
Lisa Franklin Gentlemen of Moore
Tim Kilpatrick Caldy
Women and Girls Matt Baty – Plaque Award Crewe and Nantwich
Ian Grassby Nortwich
Karen Gooch Northwich
Brendan Bailey Wirral

Mark H Jordan

Cheshire CB Volunteer Co-Ordinator

18 May 2015