The second Cheshire Presidents Volunteer Awards Presentation Dinner was held at Bowdon RUFC on Thursday 28th April 2016. Nominations had been made by rugby clubs across Cheshire identifying and recognising the efforts and commitment of volunteers. In total there were 41 nominations from 17 clubs.

Nominations were grouped into 12 categories, copying the RFU Presidents awards categories, with 3 additions for Students, Mini and Juniors, and Women’s and Girls. Paul Warrington, President of Cheshire RFU led the judging in each category to select a recipient for a Blue Plaque award.

The Plaques were presented at the dinner by Paul Warrington, the President. The U20s Rugby World Cup Championship Trophy provided the backdrop to the presentation photographs now on the Cheshire RFU Website.

The awards evening was a lively affair attended by 120 people from 14 of the 17 clubs who made nominations. A lot of camaraderie was shown within the rugby fraternity with the efforts of volunteers being appropriately recognised and celebrated.

The nominations and Plaque awards are as follows:

Club Nominee Nomination Categories
Altrincham Kersal Nicola Millar President’s award – Women and Girls – PLAQUE AWARD
Community Engagement
People Power – Club volunteers
Anselmians Tony McArdle Club Management
Bowdon Peter Baldwin People Power – Club Volunteers
Tony Bennett People Power – Coaches
Steve Harrison People Power – Coaches
Andy Hines People Power – Coaches
Myles Kitchiner Club Management – PLAQUE AWARD
Martin Shovlin People Power – Club Volunteers
Tom Sloan Club Management
Caldy David Brewster People Power – Coaches
Gareth Davies Player Retention – PLAQUE AWARD
The Wylie Family – Phil, Elaine, John, Irene Better Facilities
Capenhurst Graham Bowers People Power – Club Volunteers
Paul Forster People Power – Club Volunteers
Cheshire U20s Paul Langton People Power – Coaches – PLAQUE AWARD
MMU Cheshire Reuben Mitchell President’s Award – Students – PLAQUE AWARD
Chester University Barry Miller President’s Award – Students
Marie Beaufils President’s Award – Students
Callum Yorke President’s Award – Students
Ellesmere Port Stephanie Lee People Power – 14 to 25 year olds – PLAQUE AWARD
Sarah Pratt People Power – Club Volunteers
Club Management
President’s Award – Minis and Juniors – PLAQUE AWARD
Ross Simcock
Liverpool Referees Society Tony Rossall People Power – Referees– PLAQUE AWARD
Club Management
Kevin Toole Player Recruitment – PLAQUE AWARD
Player Retention
Lymm Jim Knowles People Power – Club Volunteers – PLAQUE AWARD
New Brighton Ellie Myers People Power – Club Volunteers
Mark Perryman People Power – Club Volunteers
North West Sirens Andy Townsend People Power – Coaches
Oxton Parkonians R BeckettK CookeP CorversM HillanD Westwater


People Power – Club Volunteers
Club Management
Community Engagement
Better Facilities – PLAQUE AWARD
Prenton Brian Elkerton People Power – Club Volunteers
Sale David Hulme Player Recruitment
People Power – Coaches
Community Engagement – PLAQUE AWARD
Mike Jefferson Club Management
Neil Thallon People Power – Club Volunteers
Wallasey Roger Elson People Power – Club Volunteers – PLAQUE AWARD