Having lost narrowly to Lancashire the week before, the Cheshire squad arrived at Doncaster Knights determined to put on an improved performance against Yorkshire. For the first 20 minutes our defence was often stretched, but our tackling was tenacious and it had to be, as Yorkshire had most of the possession and territory. Cheshire were still guilty of conceding too many penalties, 11 in the half! Yorkshire, however spurned many kicks at goal and went for the catch and drive. Cheshire’s resolute defence kept them out time and again, until finally Yorkshire crossed the line and converted the try. 7-0. From the restart Cheshire got possession and made inroads deep into the Yorkshire half. Probing for a gap to score. A good chance came, but then it was dashed. Cheshire continued to play in the Yorkshire half and were rewarded with two penalties kicked by  Annetts 7 -6 at half time, and Cheshire were still very much in the game. A missed fly hack clearance by Cheshire and Yorkshire swooped on to the loose ball and ran through to score close to the post 14-6. Finally Yorkshire’s tactic of kicking to touch was rewarded with a pushover try  for a big lead of 19 -6. Not long now to the final whistle, were Cheshire finished?. Not at all. First Nick Royle made a high juggling interception and scored wide out. 19- 11. Next Forbes Edwards scored with Annetts making it worth the full 7. 19-18. Only a few minutes remained. Yorkshire were required to defend stoutly as Cheshire pressed hard looking for any score to win. Then after two good drives, the ball was in Lavin’s hand and he danced through to score and convert his own try. 19-25. And so to Durham next week, where only a big win for Cheshire will give them any chance of getting to Twickenham for the final. A low scoring win by Yorkshire over Lancashire would be very helpful, but unlikely. However one never knows.

Cheshire Team:
James Annetts , Nick Royle,, Forbes Edwards, Tommy Banks, Ali Baker ,
Jack Lavin, Ben Jones, Matt Beesley, Henry Platt, Elliot Millar-Mills
Tom Sanders, Jack Collister, Nyle Davidson, Mike Craven, Guy Ford (C)