[slideshow id=18]

It was a glorious day for 7s and despite the fact that Sunbury-on-Thames was under water 2 weeks ago the pitches were bone hard and in many ways ideal for open running rugby! The large travelling parental support also mae the day more special.

The Heber’s first game in Pool B was against The Bishop of Hereford’s Bluecoat School. After a very poor start we were down 12-5 at half time. The players (and coaches) regrouped and relaxed somewhat to play better rugby and eventually won 29-21 (George Shaw 2T, Josh Shearman 1T, Alex Burrage 1T, Nick Dodd 1T 1C, Armani Roberts 1C). Game 2 was against RGS Colchester (Essex) which we won 22-12 (Tom Curry 1T, Ben Curry 1T, Christophe Fostier 1T, Stan Stanford 1T and Alex Burrage 1C). The final game in our group was against Trinity School (Cumbria) which we won convincingly 40-0 (Harry Cambridge 2T, George Bason 3T, George Shaw 1T and Alex Burrage 5C). The 8 quarter finalist were then drawn from a hat from the 5 group winners and 3 best runners-up.

The Quarter Finals saw the departure of some high profile winners of the Cup from previous years such as Millfield School (Somerset) and Truror School (Cornwall) as well as last Year’s U15 Daily Mail Cup winners Warrick. We drew Penair School (Cornwall) in our Quarter Final and with increased confidence started to play some better ‘knock-out’ rugby winning 35-0 (Luke Huxley 1T, Harry Cambridge 1T, George Bason 2T, Armani Roberts 1T 5C). The evening was advancing and light disappearing despite it being a cloudless sky. The Semi-final was against the Perins School (Hampshire) on the first team pitch. After a naturally nervous start we won convincingly 31-7 (Ben Curry 1T, Luke Huxley 1T, Tom Curry 1T, Alex Burrage 2T and Armani Roberts 3C).

The Final was against the local team Hampton School (Middlesex). After 1 minute we were 7-0 down which ironically galvanised the team with only 6 players for 2 minutes due to a yellow card to step-up and play some mature rugby that was both physical and graceful eventually winning 31-12 ( Ben Curry 2T, George Bason 1T, George Shaw 1T, Tom Curry 1T and Armani Roberts 3C).

The performance of the whole squad led by Mr Speed i/c Rugby was outstanding and a real tribute to their commitment to one another. The fact that the last non-selective school to win the competition was in 1979 is a real testimony to that.

David Curry
Bishop Heber High School